Tradition


 

 Tradition:(Christianity) a doctrine or body of doctrines regarded as having been established by Christ or the apostles though not contained in Scripture (dictionary.reverso.net)

Your Sword vs. My Dagger

A short time ago I was presented with an idea. This idea went so much against my tightly held religious traditions that I didn’t even consider for one second that it might be correct. I felt like my religious “beliefs” were being attacked at the mere mention of it. Of course, my immediate reaction was defense and any time we feel attacked our instinct is to defend ourSELVES. I was a ferocious defender of my ego/tradition/pride. My attacker, however, was good. So good, in fact, that I knew I needed a bigger weapon than my wounded pride’s revenge. I decided that getting God on my side was my only chance at preserving my traditional beliefs and being able to remain proud in my stance……But God, I soon realized, doesn’t work that way. He doesn’t “take sides”- He just IS. When I knelt down that day and prayed in faith, I fully expected to be answered. This was IMPORTANT to me. Not only did I expect to be answered, I was also fully anticipating an answer along the lines of, “My daughter, your understanding is absolutely correct. You are 100% right and now you may go tell everyone that GOD said so.” What I heard instead was, “What if you’re wrong?”

That’s it. You’re out of the herd!

“What if I’m wrong!?” That was completely out of left field. If I didn’t know the Spirit of the Lord so well, I may have thought I was being deceived. The thought that I may be incorrect in my beliefs was very uncomfortable to say the least. I had to ponder it for a few days. If I was wrong about this the ramifications could be huge! It was a “get kicked out of the herd” type of issue and I like my herd. I’ve always felt accepted and loved by them. I’ve always been comfortable there. Of course I’ve always went along with the same line of thinking too. Praise God though that at least my sweet husband was with me. The Spirit was working on him as well and instructing him in the same way. We were being taught the same lessons but in different classrooms.

The daughter, the daughter. Tradition!

After much contemplation and added humility, I finally went back to the Lord with my SELF a little more in check. I prayed with an open mind and an open heart instead of the arrogant little girl way of speaking to my Heavenly Father that I so often practice. I asked Father if my long held belief was accurate or not. Again, I did not receive what I was expecting. He actually didn’t say, “Yes, it is.” or “No, it isn’t.” What He said was, “Cast off ALL of your traditions. Your pride is masked under your traditions and you need to rid yourself of them completely.”

Now I’m FREE…..free fallin’

I’ve always told people that I am a relentless seeker of truth. Unfortunately, I was lying. I did not purposefully deceive. I simply didn’t realize that my pursuit of “truth” was actually a pursuit of anything that would help me back up my long held traditions. To be a real “truth-seeker” is very frightening. To honestly seek TRUTH, you basically become an eaglet while God pushes you out of your nest of comfort. You FREE fall with nothing but faith and hope that He will act the mother and swoop underneath to give you a lift up before you splat on the ground.

Can someone hand me a towel please?

So, one by one, I began taking my traditions and examining them and found them nothing more than self made masks to pride and sin. The more I cast off the more naked I felt. Without the traditions I have held onto for years I felt lost. Vulnerable. Scared… And Free. It’s hard to start over, but it is also LIBERATING! The Lord didn’t specify for me to cast off only “false” traditions. Perhaps because He knew that in my freshly weakened state I would be unable to clearly see which were true and which were unnecessary. He said to be rid of them “all.” Now, I really have to trust Him to build me back up again with truth…..His truth. Diamond truth.

I’ll take mine well steeped please. With two lumps of sugar

“There has been a great difficulty in getting anything into the heads of this generation. It has been like splitting hemlock knots with a corn-dodger [a piece of corn bread] for a wedge, and a pumpkin for a beetle [a wooden mallet]. Even the Saints are slow to understand. I have tried for a number of years to get the minds of the Saints prepared to receive the things of God; but we frequently see some of them, after suffering all they have for the work of God, will fly to pieces like glass as soon as anything comes that is contrary to their traditions: they cannot stand the fire at all. How many will be able to abide a celestial law, and go through and receive their exaltation, I am unable to say, as many are called, but few are chosen”- Joseph Smith
(History of the Church, 6:184–85)

In my new, fresh state of heart, I can identify with Joseph Smith here. I commented to my husband that everyone around us seems to be getting more and more steeped in their traditions. He replied that what’s actually happening is that as we cast ours off we can see theirs. It is like we are removing the beam from our own eye and are now able to see more clearly. It is very difficult to witness people I love so much be so bound by false ideas, placed in their minds by well meaning parents and authority figures. It is humbling to realize that I was in their exact place such a short time ago.

2Nephi 28:14“They wear stiff necks and high heads; yea, and because of pride, and wickedness, and abominations, and whoredoms, they have all gone astray save it be a few, who are the humble followers of Christ; nevertheless, they are led, that in many instances they do ERR because they are taught by the PRECEPTS OF MEN.”

Years of academy training, wasted!

D&C 93:39 “And that wicked one cometh and taketh away light and truth, through disobedience, from the children of men, and because of the tradition of their fathers.”

How many times we are presented with ideas by the Spirit or those moved by Him, and instead of opening our hearts to the possibility of a different belief, we compare it against the precepts (doctrines) of men that we have clung to for so long? We make it so easy for the Wicked One to take that light away. God’s mysteries are unbelievable. They will blow your mind! We have to be willing to be stripped of the precepts of man that we consistently compare new truths to. We must use the Spirit for our guide. Weigh everything against His breathings rather than man-made doctrines. If we can move beyond the stumbling block of tradition we will be in for one exciting ride! To infinity…….. and beyond!!

10 Comments

  1. “It is humbling to realize that I was in their exact place such a short time ago.”

    Yeah at the very beginings of the process for my pride removal, it was just like a sickness…where it gets a little worse right before improving. But that was my spiritual immune system kicking in and honing in on the problem.

    This is most certainly a wild ride to infinity and beyond! I love your references to Fiddler On The Roof and I could litterally hear Tom Petty playing as a sound track from the introduction to the fourth or fifth section. You’ve expressed the way in which the binding and grounding effects of tradition can and are in so many ways these days presenting us with stumbling blocks more than healthy roots.
    Thank you for your bravery and your tangible excitement in this post ,which I hope will inspire many many more to jump on the Zion Train. It is indeed a wild ride…but hey we are so blessed to be able to let go and watch god literally bring us up to speed, operating outside of time through the Love of Christ in our hearts and minds.

    Its happening so fast. But you have expressed very well the fun feeling of growing up unto the Lord to experience a deeper than ever, and more personal relationship with Him. At first detaching from the ‘herd’ can feel like exile but EXILE soon turns to EXHILARATION.

  2. Thank you Elder Chantdown. Obviously I’m not the best writer so all I can hope is that my experiences might inspire others to seek their own. You reminded me of one of my all time favorite movie quotes. It’s from “Armageddon” I use it often…….”I got that “excited/scared” feeling. Like 98% excited,
    2% scared. Or maybe its more – It could be two – it could be 98%
    scared, 2% excited but thats what makes it so intense, its so –
    confused. I cant really figure it out.”

  3. Hi, nice to meet you. I am Spanish, Telde-Gran Canaria-Canary Islands-. I do not know to write English correctly. I am Catholic but the doctrine of Rome is for me as the stick of the master. Sometimes I am reprehended by a mysterious hand and I feel so sweet caress that turn me wonderfully troubled. I cannot dismiss the Catholic Doctrine, so I use it as a driver manual that shows me traffic signals, sometimes it says ‘Caution!’, another times warns me saying something like ‘ Speed Excess!’. if I am not mistaken, I am experiencing the same as you, as to have been touched by a misterious hand that cannot be discerned except if that hand is the Spirit of Lord. It is more a feeling, contact and connection than a thought, the thoughts are always the last that comes into scenes.

    He, Jesus, on balance says ‘We are all connected by Me, in Myself, through the Spirit’. Let me show you the original paragraph:

    ‘As I draw you into the mystical nature of yourself, I draw you into My heart. My heart and your heart belong together. When you are with Me, you feel calm and accepted. You feel oneness with others because you experience community in your soul. If I am with each man as I am with you, then you are connected to each man through Me. Do you begin to understand the family of God? I love every man created. I have a good plan for every man created. This is My truth and, as you recall, I can never be where there is deceit. If I have a good agenda for every man created, and I have a good agenda for you, you are safe with Me and all mankind is safe with Me. Connected to Me, each man will serve his time on earth in mystical union with every other man and in mystical union with all of the saints in heaven. We are all connected’. (Anne, a Lay Apostle, on 21, December 2006. Link to the message http://www.motherofallpeoples.com/2011/12/heaven-speaks-to-those-who-do-not-know-jesus2/)

    This is not a mere piece of either a philosopher or an empty shell of mystic, this is the Real Jesus, the Real Spirit, the real Mother Mary inside me, by my side and/or behind me. As you may have said before, I cannot stand on my feet living in a whole reality -Realm- as a Love’s raving mad. I recursively think of my self and trembling I say to myself: Jojo, you are crazy, stop! (Get back, The Beatles -Jojo-). It cannot be possible, this cannot be happening to me, I am a cold human with my head steady fixed on my neck!

    A good friend of yours shown me your site. I beg you excuse my poor English. My blog: http://mariawojtila.blogspot.com.es/

    Thanks and Cheers!

  4. Ruth,

    Saludos Hermana! Segun sus comentarios aca, creo que te va a gustar mucho el post que voy a escribir aqui en LDS Anarchy. Se trata de lo mismo que explicabas tu cuando dijiste:

    ‘We are all connected by Me, in Myself, through the Spirit’

    Ashe!

  5. Hola, Elder, gracias por tu amabilidad. Espero leer tu nuevo artículo sobre ‘la conectividad’ o, ¿quizás Communion? -busca Whitley Strieber-.

    Pero, cuidado, soy varón (male). Shalom.

  6. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am very happy that you received this revelation for yourself. It sounds like it was exactly what you needed for your personal growth. Who knows our needs better than The Lord? This just goes to show how important personal revelation is. I think we tend to lean on the counsel of church leaders, or family, or other “men” and forget that we can go to The Lord, and ask in faith, and He will reveal to us the things we personally need. Sometimes this may be contrary to the teachings of our leaders, but I believe personal revelation should come first.

  7. This was my favorite line of the post:

    How many times we are presented with ideas by the Spirit or those moved by Him, and instead of opening our hearts to the possibility of a different belief, we compare it against the precepts (doctrines) of men that we have clung to for so long?

  8. Liv wonderful post really wonderful. Thank you so much. You are a good writer no problems at all for me.
    I have a thought or concept that helps me account for the way thing have gone since Joseph Smith in the LDS line and even more for the traditions we see in the world as a whole.
    Think of all religions when they go away from God as now being a tool in the hands of Satan. The fact that they still exist after becoming apostate is proof that Satan is using them for his purposes. If they were truly of God then they would not be apostate and would be a thorn and hinderance to Satan. hence Satan will use his hit men to destroy them. And who are Satan’s hit men? Any and all governments of men. God’s government is from within no archy. there is a real good blog which talks about that somewhere on the internet.
    So when we see a religion which the government likes we can be sure it is free of God’s full truth and is now doing the work of Satan.

    Now if we go back in time we can see that with each successive apostasy more truth is lost and the world becomes a darker place. The vision of the last days prior to the reset called the millenium speak of the most awful events of evil ever to occur on the earth. That can only happen if there is more darkness than ever before in history.
    So in our day right now there is more false traditions and false ideas than ever before. What is real truth is more unpopular to the wisdom of the world than ever before.
    I think this leads to the most beloved and praised of the world church becoming worse than any church in histoy.

  9. dyc,
    I believe that there is a more abundant OUTpouring of the spirit occurring right alongside the greatest darkness. Almost as if the Lord is withdrawing His spirit from those who have rejected it and giving it in abundance to those who will receive. I am seeing so many sparks of light in people lately! I think the great battle between good and evil will be fought between GOOD and EVIL. There will be no neutral. This, of course goes along with the idea of the heavens waking up and thus compelling people to choose which God they will worship.

    As far as tradition…I was a witness to a godly man preaching the gospel in purity. He bore a testimony that, if listened to, had the potential to fill one with the desire to gain their own testimony. The family he reached out to(my own distant relatives) absolutely refused to hear anything he had to say. They treated him like a wolf without ever even meeting him! The reason? Because there is a tradition that has been passed down in this family that anyone of significance will be in the family line. Yep, that’s right. He didn’t have the right last name so he was a deceiver. This is a fundamentalist family who,as we all know, the government has no love for. So even with a lot of truth-which they do have-they can still reject life-giving information because it doesn’t line up with the traditions/precepts of their fathers.

  10. Liv,

    What you said here:

    “Almost as if the Lord is withdrawing His spirit from those who have rejected it and giving it in abundance to those who will receive.”

    In comments on the Plasma Rods post, I said:

    “those parts of ‘YOU’ that you so jealously held on to are GIVEN TO ANOTHER”

    To which Justin added a qoute from scripture:

    for whosoever hath
    to that one shall be given
    and whosoever hath not
    from that one shall be taken away
    even that which they seemed to possess
    [Luke 8:18]

    Very important precepts to consider. Use it or lose it.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

