GEMTAM Book Collaboration


Since Justin told me about FastPencil.com, an online book publishing resource, I’ve uploaded all of the blog posts that I’ve written to an account that I opened on that site and have been mulling over creating an ebook or a paper book (or both) so that some of the new concepts found on this blog could be presented to the general public in an easier to read format.

After giving it some thought, I decided that a book explaining the tribal model to people would be something unique and useful. I ended up with the following descriptive title: The Gospel-based, Egalitarian, Multihusband-Multiwife, Tribal Anarchy Model. As a summary, here is what I came up with:

Summary

A tribe is a social group or mutual benefit society whose members band together for mutual support and defense. It is the foundational or original form of human society. The Gospel-based, Egalitarian, Multispouse, Tribal Anarchy Model (GEMTAM) is a type of tribe that uses the restored gospel of Jesus Christ as its pattern and law and is based upon interconnected kinship covenants. This book explains the principles behind the GEMTAM so that anyone, anywhere, even those currently living under a state government, can immediately begin to form their own stable, ordered and peaceful tribes and reap the benefits which they afford. The principles and concepts found in this book can be adapted in a multitude of different ways, so that no two tribes will be exactly alike. If modern society has left you feeling alone and detached from those around you, the tribal model might be just what you need.

Obviously, both title and summary are drafts, but I’d like to create some kind of handbook that explains all the principles and scriptural justifications of the GEMTAM for latter-day saints who may have interest in tribes. Unfortunately, there is a lot of material to go through and I’m finding it overwhelming to organize blog posts into an even-flowing book format. The thought occurred to me that maybe I ought to write it from scratch, but then I noticed that FastPencil allows collaboration. This is what the web site says about that:

Collaborating is the process of inviting others to review, edit or write with you.

Nobody can view your writing unless you invite them here.

Project Manager

Project Manager can do everything but the final publishing step.

Co-authors

Co-authors can comment, edit, write, and create new chapters.

They can also invite collaborators and accept edits.

Editors

Editors can leave comments and edit your writing.

Reviewers

Reviewers can read your project and make comments, but they can’t make modifications.

So, I’m going to give anarchy a try and ask for any volunteers who would like to collaborate on this project. It goes without saying (but I’ll say it anyway) that you ought to understand the principles of the GEMTAM, believe in it and want to spread the word about it.

If interested, please leave a comment below and tell me what part you would like to play: Project Manager, Co-author, Editor or Reviewer. I will invite you to collaborate using the email address that you fill out in the comment form. The more people involved, the faster this can be completed, so, as far as I am concerned, the more the merrier, however, I do not know how many people have read this blog and understand the GEMTAM. I guess I will soon find out.

This is not a for pay or for profit project. Whatever ebook we come up with will be free to copy and spread around. It’ll cost me $10 to make it into a .pdf and then I’ll just upload it to this blog and link it so that anyone can freely download it.  I just want something that people can print and hand out to people, or otherwise use to explain these concepts to friends and family so that people can start to form their own tribes.

Update: We now have a total of eight collaborators. If anyone would like to look at our progress on this project and make comments, please click the following link:

The Gospel-based, Egalitarian, Multihusband-Multiwife, Tribal Anarchy Model / Summary – FastPencil

Second Update: I have created an “Open” Facebook group where people can freely discuss this model with others. You can post messages, comments, events, video, documents, do group chat, etc. Here’s the link:

The Gospel-based Egalitarian Multihusband – Multiwife Tribal Anarchy Model – Open Facebook Group

Third Update: There is also now a GEMTAM Discussion chat room and a GEMTAM discussion club on Wireclub.com. All are invited to enter and discuss the model, regardless of whether you are for or against it.

Complete List of Articles authored by LDS Anarchist

21 Comments

  1. Co-author.

    I tried moving the comments into sub-chapters to go along with all of my posts by just copying and pasting them. However comments come with the html that is displayed in full by FastPencil.

    I think the comments have a lot of good material, but going thru every one to cut out the html in someone’s name, the date they made the comment, and any links they put is a put of a task.

  2. Also, LDSA — I have an account already with FastPencil. I don’t know how you add me as a co-author on your project, but that account is not listed under the e-mail address that I use here, nor the one that you e-mail me at.

    Do you need the address to add me as a co-author?

  3. I would be very interested in reading this book. I don’t know if I would be reliable enough to be a consistent contributor, but I could take part as a reviewer and maybe even an editor.

  4. I’ve sent invites out to both of you, as requested. Thanks for the interest.

  5. I don’t know if you’ve already made your decision to use fastpencil, but using googledocs you can collaborate in what is likely a very similar fashion.

    Here is a link about googldocs collaborating.
    http://docs.google.com/support/bin/topic.py?topic=28195

    and then to turn it into a pdf, you can just use openoffice. http://www.openoffice.org They have an open source free office suite thats compatible with every other office suite, and it has a useful feature to turn any document into a PDF. It is free, as is googledocs.

    I’m just a casual reader, but I thought I’d mention it.

    Sounds like an interesting book!

  6. I want to help!
    Justin, I like your new avatar, but check this out:

  7. Lol.

    I prefer him as Sherlock — but I’ll put that into my rotation of images to use.

    Also — my wife says she likes yours better.

  8. Just an update: there are now four contributors to this project.

  9. In case it wasn’t obvious — I started by trying to organize the posts into sections and then planned on trying to weave the separate posts together from there.

  10. My wife and I have been led to the perfect place and time in our lives to be able to offer our service in absolutely any capacity you feel could be the most valuable to the project. We would be anxiously engaged for sure. Please let us know what roles the spirit indicates to you for us to play. We are modest but can in the confidence of the spirit, like Ammon, say that with God we can “do it all”.

    Blessings and Love,
    Elder & Priestess Chantdown

  11. ps. In our personal records I had been saving comments as well, since they often offer additional insights which I cherished. I am willing to help out with that if needed. I think this is a wonderful project because I know many LDS people have been inspired to start compiling family scripture consisting of personal scripture, the standard works minus the footnotes and stuff, plus favorites and nuggets of truth out of the best books as inspired by the Holy Spirit. This could be a great blessing to many of those families and others who don’t know how to get started or in other words “know not where to find it”.

  12. Update: there are now seven people collaborating on this project.

  13. If anyone would like to look at our progress on this project and make comments, click the following link:

    The Gospel-based, Egalitarian, Multihusband-Multiwife, Tribal Anarchy Model / Summary – FastPencil

    I’ll also put this link in the body of the post above.

  14. I have created an “Open” Facebook group where people can freely discuss this model with others. You can post messages, comments, events, video, documents, do group chat, etc. Here’s the link:

    The Gospel-based Egalitarian Multihusband – Multiwife Tribal Anarchy Model – Open Facebook Group

    (I’ve put this notice in the body of the post, too.)

  15. NEXT GROUP CHAT for the Gospel-based, Egalitarian, Multihusband-Multiwife, Tribal Anarchy Model Facebook discussion group: Sunday, August 28, 2011, at 7 pm EASTERN STANDARD TIME.

    Anyone is welcome to attend. Come if you like the model, if you hate the model, if you want to learn more about the model, if you are a model (especially a supermodel) or if you are bored.

  16. LDSA I think you mean 7 pm Eastern Daylight Time right?

  17. I haven’t worn a wrist watch in 20 years. (I got tired of people asking me the time and so threw mine out.) I never know time it is, so I don’t know the standard time from the daylight time. Will there still be daylight at 7 pm on the east coast, especially with a hurricane coming? I doubt it. But if we are to call it daylight, I will call it daylight. So,

    Correction: 7 pm EASTERN DAYLIGHT TIME is the hour.

  18. The next GEMTAM discussion group chat is scheduled for Saturday, September 10th, 2011, at 7 pm Central time. (5 pm Pacific, 6 pm Mountain and 8 pm Eastern.) All are welcome to attend, whether you agree or disagree with the model. Cyber popcorn and Root E-beer floats will be served.

  19. I want in. However you can use me. I’ll look at everything you have up here, facebook, etc..

    dan

  20. I’ve sent you an invitation from Fast Pencil. Check your email inbox or junkmail folder.

  21. Update: There is now a GEMTAM Discussion chat room and a GEMTAM discussion club on Wireclub.com. All are invited to enter and discuss the model, regardless of whether you are for or against it.

    Collaborators: I have also created an invitation-only GEMTAM Collaborators chat room on Wireclub. Contact me if you want to be invited.


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

