Happy 3rd Birthday, LDS Anarchy Blog!


Have a piece of cyber cake from your friends at LDS Anarchy.

This blog was born 3 years ago today, on 7 October 2007.  Since then it has received over 200,000 page hits.  As always, I am curious as to what people think of it.  So, here is a poll that I set up two years ago that asks the question, “How would you rate the LDS Anarchy Blog?”  If you have not voted before, here’s your chance to tell me what you think.  If you have already voted, feel free to cast another vote if you have a different assessment of the blog.

LDS Anarchy Blog Readership Poll

Introducing: New Authors

To celebrate this birthday, there are now three new authors: Justin, Chris and dyc4557.  I will put their bios on the Contributors page when they send them to me.  I expect the blog will be immensely benefited by the writings of these men and I look forward to their articles.

Other slight changes

I’ve updated the complete list of articles authored by me so that virtually every post is now organized topically.  This makes it very easy to quickly find what you are looking for.  Also, all my Deep Waters posts can now be accessed without entering a password.

Twitter, Facebook, etc.

If you haven’t already noticed, at the bottom of each post there is a list of sharing options.  You can share the post using email, printing, Facebook, Twitter, Stumbleupon, etc.

After the sharing options, you can also “like” a post by clicking on the “like” button.

If you want to access my Twitter account, you can find the link at the bottom of the right side of each page of the blog.

Ratings

All blog posts can be rated by clicking one of the stars at the top of a post.  The ratings are Very Poor, Poor, Average, Good and Excellent.  If you hold the mouse pointer over the rating icon near the stars, a new window will open up, allowing you to see the latest blog ratings.  Everything in the new window is hyperlinked (clickable).

All comments can be rated, as well.  Rate up by clicking the thumbs up and rate down by clicking the thumbs down.  Hold the mouse pointer over the comment rating icon near the thumbs to view the latest comment ratings.

Hip hip hooray! or When’s it gonna die?

Feel free to use any of these new features to broadcast your feelings about the LDS Anarchy blog far and wide.  For some of you, you might be compelled to shout, “Hip, hip, hooray!”  For others, “How in the world did this blog last so long and when’s it gonna die?!”  Regardless of your persuasion, y’all are invited to enjoy a piece of (cyber) birthday cake.

22 Comments

  1. New Mormon visitors are surely going to flee from this blog when they see the two Anarchy is Order symbols (the one on the cake and the one above the cake). “That blog’s satanic!” they’ll surely scream. Lol. More cake for me, I guess…

  2. Your comment made me think. With all this new.mormon.org and new.familysearch etc. Maybe members of the church today could be called new.mormons.

    Like you said, new.mormon visitors are surely going to flee from this blog.

  3. I didn’t know where else to put this. Has anybody else noticed this peculiar earthquake swarm that started this morning? I haven’t seen any news reports on this all day long, yet, the magnitude of these earthquakes has totally caught my attention. So much so that I even tweeted about it. Why isn’t anybody reporting on this swarm?

    10-degree Map Centered at 10°N,45°E

    Earthquake List for 10-degree Map Centered at 10°N, 45°E

    Update: Ah, finally! There is now one (non-mainstream) news report coming out on this! I wonder what took so long? And why hasn’t the mainstream news said anything, yet?

  4. Do you have this link? Everyone should. As you have mentioned keep your eye on the planets for the future. We can watch the earth for the present events. This site has a list of all earthquakes reported to the USGS. It has a California specific site. It is updated hourly I think and shows placement and magnitude info.
    Here it is: http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsus/
    Reference your other comment I reply, lo haré.

  5. LDSA:

    This was reported in a report I subscribe to, but it’s not necessarily “public” nor would I consider it “mainstream”.

    They stated:

    “Yes, the tip happened in the data and release language is all about – watching it develop…Key point of interest is all those earthquakes off Yemen (which is most odd!) Also think about oil transshipments through the region… Go reread the 2009 article about the new ocean in the making and the major rift which has developed in the African desert in Ethiopia…

    “Now, connect the East Africa Rift area (south of the Dabbahu volcano) and run a line from there through today’s fresh quake swarm and what do you find?

    “The part of Indonesia where the Merapi volcano is popping off. Now, all we need is for media to piece this together and for tanker traffic to be interrupted….or not.”

    There are some graphics you’re loosing here, but I’ll try and email them to you and you can post them if you so choose.

  6. P.S. A second update from that same source:

    Then – almost exactly on schedule – time-wise – we’ve had a big outburst of earthquakes in the area south of Yemen and northeast of Djibouti. And no, we’re not talking 2′s and 3′s. This is an area which hasn’t been seismically active and in the past 30-hours it has suddenly popped off – not with one or two – but with 40 quakes on the USGS site. See here.

    Meantime, in Indonesia, the Child of Krakatau (Krakatoa) has been active every five minutes. See it here.

    As I pointed out for Peoplenomics readers on Sunday, there very well could be a once-in-a-lifetime geological event building and here’s why: Back in 2009, there were reports of a great crack in the earth that had opened up in Somalia south of the Dabbahu volcano. (see triangle below)

    Now, let’s see what happens when you draw a line from Dabbahu volcano (see more here), through the earthquake swarm in the Gulf of Aden/Djibouti/ Off Yemen quake area. Where does it point?

    In the direction of the Indonesia quakes at Merapi and possibly soon Krakatau.

    (Go here and read the first couple of paragraphs – with a few visual aids). Seriously, can someone send me the html language for this site so I can hyperlink these articles instead??
    (editor’s note: Your wish is my command)

  7. http://planetsave.com/2010/11/14/whats-going-on-in-the-gulf-of-aden/comment-page-1/

    This was the top hit a few minutes ago if you searched “earthquake africa” on Google’s news site.

  8. The LDSA site received an interesting critique from a site called Enough with this. The author mentioned that he “would love to poll all the contributors about, to name one example, whether they believe the moon landings to be a hoax.”

    So, it might be nice for any other contributors to oblige this person and answer his poll question at his site [linked above].

  9. I’m seeing a line of earthquakes pointing to San Franscisco. The line starts at 35°N, 92°W with earthquakes centered around Guy, AR. The next point is at 35°N, 97°W with a couple of earthquakes around Jones/Luther, OK. The third point on the line is at 37°N, 112°W with an earthquake near Bitter Springs, AZ. The next point is at 37°N, 119°W with a group of earthquake near Mammoth Lakes. Connecting these dots points directly to San Franscisco. It probably means nothing, but it did catch my eye.

  10. So, what’s up with all the birds, fish, crabs and other creatures falling dead since the 1st of the year? Is a large earthquake about to happen?

  11. Re: Aflockalypse Now

    In my neighborhood there were still plenty of people drinking and drunk days after New Years. This gets me thinking… Perhaps these birds, fish and other creatures partied too much during the festivities? Is this what happens when you drink and fly? Or drink and swim?

  12. I read this on Infowars today.

  13. Here’s a better map of all these animal deaths.

  14. The great earthquake that just occurred off the east coast of Japan, along with the subsequent tsunami that hit California made me think of the Japan quake/tsunami/CA quake predictions by that Christian guy last year about September 3rd, 2010.

  15. I was looking over the USGS earthquake data tonight and I noticed that there was a 4.4 magnitude quake in Mexico on Thursday. The first thing that came to mind was “foreshock.” I found it curious that this quake is so close to the anniversary of last year’s large Easter quake. It made me wonder if we are going to have a repeat of that 7.2 quake again, or perhaps something greater. I did a Google search and found that I am not the only one thinking that this quake is a foreshock:

    Light Earthquake jolts on San Andreas Fault in Baja, Mexico on Thursday (from TheWeatherSpace.com)

  16. When I had an LDSA account on Facebook, I wrote a note essay entitled, Sperm Sorting Function, in which I cited some abstracts that indicated that women could potentially conceive throughout their entire lives. (The essay covered a variety of subjects and abstracts and has never been published on this blog because it was of a more scientific nature and also hypothetical, although it does have particular application for the GEMTAM.)

    Today I came across this article which seems to indicate that these findings (of oogenesis and folliculogenesis) have been established as fact. Here is the article:

    Scientists rewrite rules of human reproduction

    And here is a quote from it:

    Generating an unlimited supply of human eggs and the prospect of reversing the menopause was made possible by a series of breakthroughs led by Professor Jonathan Tilly of Harvard.

    In 2004 he astounded the world of reproductive biology by suggesting that there were active stem cells in the ovaries of mice that seemed capable of replenishing eggs throughout life.

    For half a century, a dogma of reproductive biology was that women are born with their full complement of egg cells which they gradually lose through life until they run out when they reach the menopause.

    “This age-old belief that females are given a fixed ‘bank account’ of eggs at birth is incorrect,” Professor Tilly said.

    “In fact ovaries in adulthood are probably more closely matched to testes in adulthood in their capacity to make new germ cells, which are the special cells that give rise to sperm and eggs,“ he said.

    ”Over the past 50 years, all the basic science, all the clinical work and all the clinical outcome was predicated on one simple belief, that is the oocyte pool, the early egg-cell pool in the ovaries was a fixed entity, and once those eggs were used up they cannot be renewed, replenished or replaced,“ he added.

    Last month, Professor Tilly published pioneering research showing that these stem cells exist in human ovaries and that they could be stimulated in the laboratory to grow into immature egg cells.

  17. My kids showed this to me the other day and I thought it would make good Happy Birthday music for this post. It just a little, itty bitty song. Enjoy! (heh, heh…)

    Stand by… Trying to get it to embed…

  18. I feel honored to be the first to comment on that comment.

    The mind verily boggles at the realization that here in front of me is the availability of 10 hours non-stop of that auditory pattern to resonate in my ears and brain. This possibility causes me to wonder what would happen if I chose to watch all 10 hours straight of this. It is as if I am holding a pill or a syringe in my hands of a drug that will give me a quite intense 10 hour trip.

    What would my brain be like afterward? Possibly there is some cosmic message which would be revealed when the normal left brain reception of the reality stream is over ridden by this message for 10 hours. Might I have a visitation? Or would it be a possession?
    But this uncertainty does as Hamlet observed make cowards of us all, And thus the native hue of resolution
    Is sicklied o’er with the pale cast of thought,
    And enterprise of great pitch and moment
    With this regard their currents turn awry
    And lose the name of action.

    Which is to say I didn’t watch it all. But the 51 seconds I did watch gave me this pause to reflect.

    Happy Birthday Blog.

  19. Okay this is just about fun. You know they used to have marathon dances and other thing to see who could do something the longest.
    I just listened to 6 min 30 secs of the song. Yes I was on facebook also but who can top that?

    And frankly as Mormons I know for a fact we have been scared into feeling like if we “waste” time we will be in bad standing before God.
    Please believe Jesus your salvation has been paid for. Now just accept it by faith. Then have fun.

  20. In case anyone cares, BOM-Title Page and BOM 1 are tentatively done and I’ve moved onto BOM 2. Also, I’ve created a Comments page for feedback and to suggest improvements.

  21. I just found out Ray Bradbury passed away on 5 June. I’m kind of bummed about it. I had the opportunity to meet him a few years back at a local library, but I had to go in to work that day. I found out about his appearance at the very last minute and considered ditching work and attending, since I thought, “This will be the last opportunity to meet the man before he dies.” And sure enough, it was.

    Besides his writings, I enjoyed how Bradbury was, his steadfast resistance to changing technologies and his autodidactic ways. Given my own futurist predictions, it seems to me that he lived his life in a way that was consistent with both the past and the future, choosing to skip over the temporary present stage we are currently in. As a result, although I never got to meet him, I like him anyway. He seems like a kindred soul.

    To learn more about Ray Bradbury, go to http://www.raybradbury.com. To see a series of video clip interviews done with him at his home, click here.

  22. Thats weird that just the other day i was looking for some reading and also looking for literal spiritual guidance…as in spirits of the deceased who are willing to work from the other side of the veil to help create positive change. I felt strongly impressed to enter Ray Bradburry’s name into the search engine. But i did not because i second guessed my intuition and my left brain insisted that it was a dumb idea and a purely random thought since to my knowledge he didnt seem to fit the bill for what my original inspiration had set me out looking for since in my mind he had not passed away. Wow…Im kinda dumbfounded now. I always had a good vibe about the spirit of that man too.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers